Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Upcoming Webinars

ASPR Live Webinar Series: Precepting students in Rural Settings as a Form of Recruitment

Date: Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Time: 10:00 a.m. PT / Noon CT / 1:00 p.m. ET
Presenter: Michael Kennedy, MD, KUMC-SOM
Cost: Members/Free
1 hour CE credit

In medicine there is an age old tradition of mentoring, precepting, apprenticing students in a clinical setting. Generally medical students spend their first 2 years in classroom learning the “basic sciences” required as the foundation for clinical knowledge. Then students begin their “clerkship years”. This period in medical school generally focuses on specialty driven clinical education. Each student will rotate in course such as: Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pediatrics, Internal Medicine, Psychiatry, Neurology, Geriatrics, and Family Medicine. At the University of Kansas School of Medicine we have introduce the option of fulfilling these Clerkship requirements in community and rural settings. The advantages from many aspects of this kind of clinical education model will be discussed. Emphasis will be placed on the recruitment and retention aspects of precepting students in your health care system.

Register

© 2017 Association of Staff Physician Recruiters (ASPR). All rights reserved.
Per standard by the Payment Card Industry, ASPR has met the requirements of the Payment Card Industry-Data Security Standards
(PCI-DSS). To view our compliance certificate, click here. Credit card processing on this website is secure and processed by Plug'N
Pay, which meets credit card industry standards. When you are requested to enter your credit card information, you will be taken
to a secure page.

This website is optimized for Firefox and Chrome. If you have difficulties using this site, see complete browser details.